Valentine’s Day Memories

I remember the excitement in grade school, when the teacher announced that we needed to bring a shoe box to school, to decorate for the BIG Valentine’s Day party. Red construction paper, white heart-shaped doilies, glue, glitter, ribbons galore……it was our chance to use our creativity and design the most beautiful box in the class. It was also our chance to get a special Valentine card from one special classmate, one that said more than “be mine”…..something personal. I recall counting my cards when I got home from school to make sure I got one from every classmate. Of course, I did…..we all did. The teachers always made sure to send the list of names home to our parents in advance, to make sure that no child got left Valentine-less.

Those who know me personally, may find it unthinkable, but I do not have any of my childhood Valentine cards to share. It’s amazing, since I am known in my family as a hoarder collector of all things sentimental. Imagine my surprise a few months ago when my mother handed me a manilla envelope full of treasures. This has happened on a regular basis this past year, and I love seeing a manilla envelope lying on her desk when I visit. I know there’s something very important inside that she is entrusting to my care.

Inside the envelope were greeting cards; including baby shower, Christmas, Anniversary, Mother’s Day cards, and the best of all, Valentine cards that dated back to the early 1930s when my dad was just a little boy. Awwww…..so, I’m sharing these today, because they are just the sweetest things ever!

 

 

Just imagine my 88 year old dad, as an adorable little boy receiving this mushy Valentine ๐Ÿ™‚

 

 

 

 

“made in the USA” doubly sweet!

 

 

This one is from my dad to my mom……

Dad always chose the most beautiful cards for my mom!

Happy St. Valentine’s Day…..I hope your Valentine gave YOU a card as sweet as one of these!

 

 

 

 

Author: Texas Twang Debi

Even though I am "pushing 60", I don't feel that old in my head.....too bad the body tells another story though! I have survived a bad marriage and divorce, survived 5 years as a professional musician, and have managed to emerge a better person. I enjoy making music, whether singing, writing, or recording. The pressure of making a living from music is gone, and music is my passion now. I work in retail, and enjoy my job very much. It challenges me and keeps my brain cells working. Also helps pay my bills :) I may not have much to say that will interest the general population, but I do have stories that need to be told. I will tell them here, until I am finished. That may be 10 years or 10 days from now. Until then....please enjoy!

8 thoughts on “Valentine’s Day Memories”

  1. I enjoyed reading of how your Mom gave you such treasures as old cards from the past and especially the Valentines. They were pretty cute wern’t they. I bet no one will receive as sweet ones tomorrow as the ones you pictured on your site. I still love the old ones the best.

    So glad you reblogged this story again. Happy Valentine’s Day Debi.

  2. Seeing these old valentines susre did bring back memories of when valentines were so adorable …unlike the “Sponge Bob” variety that the kids get today! I remember all the things you mentioned Debi – and I was just thinking of the decorated shoebox Valentine Boxes we made as kids that we decorated in exactly the same way as you described that you did! One of my piano students was telling me yesterday that now days they just take in brown paper bags and decorate them! Thanks for the memories Deb.

Leave a Reply

